Archive for March, 2009

Pakistan team for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009 announced

Zeeshan Ashraf will captain the 18 member Pakistan squad for the 2009 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup hockey tournament to be held in Malaysia from April 5, 2009.

Zeeshan Ali and Sibtain Raza are the two new faces in the team, which also consists of old war horses like Shakeel Abbasi, Mohammad Saqlain and co.

Nasir Ahmad,  Muhammad Imran, Zeeshan Ashraf, Ehsan Ullah, Zeeshan Ali, Sibtain Raza, Muhammad Saqlain, Rana Asif, Fareed Ahmad, Sajjad Anwar, Dilawar Bhatti, Waqas Sharif, Shakeel Abbasi, Shabir Khan, Abbas Haider, Tariq Aziz, Shafqat Rasool and Akhtar Ali.

Pakistan results Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009

Pakistan 2-3 Malaysia ( Click for match report)


Leave a Comment

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009- Indian team

The Indian team for the 2009 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup to be held in Malaysia from April 5, 2009 has been announced. Drag flick specialist Sandeep Singh will captain the Indian team in the five nation tournament that also features hosts Malaysia, Pakistan, New Zealand and Egypt.

Indian team for Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009

Sandeep Singh (cap), Baljeet Singh, Adrian D’souza (both goalkeepers), Dilip Tirkey, Raghunath, Gurbaj Singh, Sardar Singh, Prabodh Tirkey, Vikram Pillai, I Tignesh, Ajitesh Roy, Tushar Khandekar, Prabhjot Singh, HV Sunil, Bharat Chhikara, GS Chandi, Shivendra Singh and Arjun Halappa.

Please use the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup tag on this blog to find out the other team members, schedules, match reports ( of previous events as well as this one)

India Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009- Results

India 2-2 Egypt ( April 5, 2009)

India have won the 2009 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup.

Click here for match report- India 3-1 Malaysia final.

Please check India’s results at the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup results page.

Comments (27)

Sri Lankan cricketers injured in Pakistan firing

Several members of the Sri Lankan cricket team were injured when masked gunmen attacked the bus they were travelling in en route to the Gaddafi stadium in Lahore.

Five Pakistani policemen were killed in the attack. Tharanga Paranavitana and Thilan Samaraweera were taken to hospital after suffering minor injuries. Other injured players included star batsman Kumar Sangakarra, Chaminda Vaas and Ajantha Mendis. Fourth umpire Raza was also hurt in the attack ( he reportedly took a bullet to the stomach)

This is a big blow for cricket in Pakistan. Sri Lanka were touring the country because India cancelled their tour because of security concerns.

The terrorists reportedly tried to hurl a grenade under the bus. Should they have been successful, we would have had a monumental disaster on our hands.

The Sri Lankan board has asked its team to come home by the next flight from Lahore.

Was this a security leak? Or did the terrorists penetrate the security cordon? The buses were also not bullet proof, which adds to the long list of questions that are facing Pakistan at this moment.

Leave a Comment