Indian squad for the World Cup announced.

At about 1 PM IST ( Indian Standard Time), the Indian selectors announced their 15 member squad for the quadrennial extravaganza in the Carribean.

Batsmen :

1.) Rahul Dravid ( Captain)

2.) Sachin Tendulkar ( Vice Captain)

3.) Saurav Ganguly

4.) Virender Sehwag

5.) Robin Uthappa

6.) Yuvraj Singh

Wicket keepers :

1.) Mahendra Singh Dhoni

2.) Dinesh Karthik


1.) Zaheer Khan

2.) Munaf Patel

3.) Irfan Pathan

4.)Ajit Agarkar

5.) Anil Kumble

6.) Harbhajan Singh

7.)S. Sreesanth

So, it is the same 15 member squad for the second ODI against Sri Lanka that the wise men have picked for the World Cup.

VVS Laxman, Mohammad Kaif, Ramesh Powar and Gautam Gambhir do not see their name in. Suresh Raina, Chappell’s blue eyed boy, hasn’t been picked too.

The bowling is nothing of a surprise.

The line up looks quite good on paper, but it is a team which isn’t the greatest fielding outfit.

Yuvraj Singh hasn’t played for quite a while. Pathan has struggled with form and injury too. Sehwag sees himself selected. It was probably the fact that he is a genuine match winner on his day that tilted the balance in his favour.

Powar , IMO is unlucky. Kumble isn’t the Kumble of old, and Harbhajan doesn’t take too many wickets these days. Powar has proven in recent times that he is capable of doing the job- wickets as well as containing. It is probably his lack of experience which went against him.

I think India will play the 7 batsmen -4 bowler combination as they have so often done in recent games.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: