Indian squad for the ODI series against WI

While there is still some confusion over whether the WI players will tour India after having money problems with their board, India have announced their squad for the tour.

Dravid (captain), Sachin Tendulkar (vice-captain), Robin Uthappa, Sourav Ganguly, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, Gautam Gambhir, Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Ajit Agarkar, Joginder Sharma, Ramesh Powar, Harbhajan Singh, Rudra Pratap Singh.

The big thing obviously is dropping Sehwag. His hundred in the Ranji Trophy didn’t save him and the mandarins within the BCCI finally decided that it was time to cut the rope they had given him. Another thing to be noticed is that Sachin Tendulkar has been made Vice Captain. He normally does give lots of useful advice as a senior member, but the board has chosen to give him a title .

Kumble has been rested and Pathan’s been told to get back his ” form”. No Kaif and Mongia. Joginder Sharma and Robin Utthapa have been given a chance. Miraculously, Suresh Raina has retained his spot in the squad.

England have announced their world cup probables too. I’ll post on that a little later.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: