Fabio Cannavaro wins Ballon D’ Or.

World Cup winning Italian skipper and Real Madrid defender Fabio Cannavaro has been named  ‘ European Footballer of the year” by France magazine.

Cannavaro was one of the architects of Italy’s surprise triumph in Germany. Zinedine Zidane, who beat Cannavaro to the World Cup Golden Ball, finished 5th in the poll.

Cannavaro is the first Italian to win it after Roberto Baggio in 1993, and is the first defender to win the award since Matthias Sammer in 1966. For the uninitiated, Sammer was one of the best German defenders in the 60’s . He has also managed Dortmund.


1.) Fabio Cannavaro

2.) Gianlugi Buffon

3.) Thierry Henry.

4.) Ronaldinho


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: