Saina Nehwal wins Hong Kong Super Series- beats Shixian Wang

India’s Saina Nehwal has won her third Super Series title of the year by beating Shixian Wang in Wanchai on Sunday, December 12, 2010.

Nehwal won a hard fought game 15-21 21-16 21-17.

Prior to this, Nehwal had also won the Singapore Super Series and Indonesian Super Series.


Leave a Comment

India 3-2 Pakistan Asian Games Hockey 2010

Final score and result-India vs Pakistan- Asian Games Hockey 2010.

India beat Pakistan in a Group B game at the 2010 Asian Games in Guangzhou thanks to a brace from ace drag flicker Sandeep Singh. Singh’s double allowed India to pick up their third straight win in Group B.

Dharamvir Singh scored the other goal for India, while Rehan Butt and Shakeel Abbasi were on target for Pakistan.

Final score- India 3-2 Pakistan ( Sandeep Singh 3′, 48′, Dharamvir Singh 16’/ Rehan Butt 4′, Shakeel Abbasi)

Leave a Comment

India vs Pakistan result final score- Hockey World Cup 2010

Hosts India will meet arch rivals Pakistan at the Major Dhyan Chand Stadium in Delhi today ( February 28, 2010) in the 2010 Hockey World Cup. This page will be updated with the final score and result of the India vs Pakistan game. Game kicks off at 20.35 IST

Full time score score :- India 4-1 Pakistan ( Shivendra Singh, Sandeep Singh*2, Prabhjot Singh/ Sohail Abbas)

HT score:- India 2-0 Pakistan

First Half :-

Both of India’s goals came from penalty corners. Sandeep’s shot was blocked by Pakistan keeper Salman Akbar, but Shivendra managed to slot in the rebound to give India the lead. Sandeep then directly converted a penalty corner in first half extra time to put India 2-0 ahead.

Salman Akbar produced two good saves in the first half to prevent India from scoring, while ace drag flicker Sohail Abbas rattled the woodwork in Pakistan’s only penalty corner of the game.

Second half :-

India opened the second half just as they had closed the second half- with a goal. That put them 3-0 up and Sandeep converted another penalty corner to make it 4-0. Sohail Abbas was again denied by the woodwork, but he managed to get a powerful shot in to reduce the arrears.

Leave a Comment

India win Azlan Shah Cup 2009, beat Malaysia 3-1

Game                : India v Malaysia

Competition : Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009 Final

Date                   : April 12, 2009

Final score      : India 3-1 Malaysia ( Result- India win)

Goal scorers :  Arjun Halappa 8′, Prabhjot Singh 20′, Shivendra Singh 41’/ Azlan Misrom 11′

India scored three against Malaysia for the second time in the tournament as they beat the hosts in the final of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup today.

India, who had beaten the hosts 3-0 in the earlier group game, took the lead through Arjun Halappa in the 8th minute. Malaysia replied through Azlan Misrom, but Prabhjot Singh restored India’s lead in the 20th minute.

Shivendra Singh added a third for India in the 41st minute, and as the final whistle blew, coach Harendra Singh and his boys celebrated their fourth Azlan Shah Cup title.

India had previously won the tournament in 1985, 1991 and 1995. This was the second time they were playing Malaysia for the title- the two teams had battled for the crown in 1985 too.

India had finished second in last year’s Azlan Shah Cup. They lost to Argentina in the final then.

In the third fourth place playoff, New Zealand beat Pakistan 2-1.

Comments (6)

New Zealand claim bronze, beat Pakistan-Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009

Game : New Zealand v Pakistan

Competition : Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009 Bronze medal play off

Date : April 12, 2009

Final score : New Zealand 2-1 Pakistan

Goal scorers : Blair Hopping 12′, Joel Baker 13’/ Shakeel Abbasi 35′

New Zealand have claimed the bronze medal by beating Pakistan in the third fourth place in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Malaysia today.

Skipper Blair Hopping gave the Black Sticks the lead, and Joel Baker added another one minute later as New Zealand dealt twin blows early in the match.

Shakeel Abbasi did pull one back for Pakistan, but unfortunately for them, they could manage to score another goal.

Comments (3)

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Tables 2009

Final standings from the 2009 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup ( As on April 11, 2009 after the final round of games were played)

Team                GP    Won    Lost    Draw    Points
India                4        2           0           2            8
Malaysia         4        2           1           1           7
New Zealand 4        1            0         3            6
Pakistan         4         1            3         0            3
Egypt              4         0           2          2            2

Final standings from the 2009 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup ( As on April 11, 2009 after the final round of games were played)

Team GP Won Lost Draw Points
India 4 2 0 2 8
Malaysia 4 2 1 1 7
New Zealand 4 1 0 3 6
Pakistan 4 1 3 0 3
Egypt 4 0 2 2 2

Third placed playoff

New Zealand 2-1 Pakistan

( Click for Match report)

India v Malaysia ( Final) ( Click for Match Report)

Final Standings:-

1.) India

2.) Malaysia

3.) New Zealand

4.) Pakistan

5.) Egypt
Final Standings:-

1.) India

2.) Malaysia

3.) New Zealand

4.) Pakistan

5.) Egypt

Comments (2)

Malaysia 1-1 New Zealand- Sultan Azlan Shah Cup

Game               : Malaysia v New Zealand

Competition : Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2009

Date                  : April 11, 2009

Final score     : Malaysia 1-1 New Zealand

Goal scorers : Chua Boon Huat 48’/ Nicholas Wilson 49′

Hosts Malaysia entered their third Sultan Azlan Shah Cup final after drawing 1-1 against New Zealand today.

The Kiwis, wh0 needed a win to reach the finals, fell behind in the 48th minute when the experienced Chua Boon Huat scored for the firsts. They however recovered the very next minute,  as Nicholas Wilson scored from open play.

However New Zealand could not get a second goal, and Malaysia will now play India, who beat Pakistan in the other match of the day, in the final on Sunday.

Comments (2)

Older Posts »